Pilot Del Ful Double Knock Mechanical Pencil

Pilot Del Ful

When I first saw the Pilot Del Ful double knock pencil on JetPens.com I was intrigue. After a bit of confusion about the cost of shipping (I accidentally put Cambodia instead of Canada) I broke down and ordered one. The pencil took about 6 business days to arrive and from the moment I took it out of the packaging I knew this was going to be a fun little toy.

When the pencil tip is retracted the lead stays put then you click the button and now that the tip is out you give the pencil a little shake and a counter weight bounces and extracts the lead. The included lead was fine but nothing special but I didn’t buy it for the lead I bought it for the knock which is so fun. As I was using it my 8 year old son was mesmerized by it and even offered to sit down immediately and do his homework as long as I let him use it. He is now saving his pennies for one of his own.

If you are looking for a good mechanical pencil and also like a little novelty with your written instruments this is a great option.

Check out the Pen Addicts thoughts as well.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Pilot Del Ful Double Knock Mechanical Pencil

  1. Very intriguing. I’m not much of a pencil guy but I like how this one looks. I generally like thick pens. I’ve added one to my wish list just in case I feel the urge to buy a mechanical pencil.

  2. Similar but as a counterpoint to Peninkcillin, I am more of a wooden pencil guy, but this is really cool — it kind of looks like a writing instrument they might use in Tron or The Matrix or something. I don’t suppose you want to post a little video of how it operates, do you? (-:

    • Halden

      I definitely prefer woodcased for premium pencil but this one is great for tossing in my bag with my planner and for fun.

      I will try and whip up a video

  3. Haha, that video is awesome! It has that same retractable coolness as those Nokia phones in The Matrix! Thanks for making that!

  4. GrannyKass

    FYI! Just in case you didn’t know it, Pilot has been making these pencils called “shakers” for a very long time. There are a lot of different body types for all the different personalities out there.

    Happy Day,

    Now I have to run over to JetPens and look at this one. Like I need another new pencil! ! !

  5. GrannyKass

    Follow this link to a shaker search on Amazon.com, plus JetPens carries another Pilot and a Uni shaker.
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_2_30?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=pilot+shaker+mechanical+pencil&sprefix=pilot+shaker+mechanical+pencil
    The 1. pencil in black with the yellow center ring around it is the one I have just replaced after retiring the early model of his that I have had since the late 70’s or 80’s. I developed a crack at the yellow ring going up the barrel several years ago, I just replaced it last month. Shaker’s are great pens, but I also like the side knock button, too. As you write and the lead wears down all you have to do is squeeze your thumb and out comes more lead. Nothing to break your stride from letter to letter.

    If you want more, just search for shaker mechanical pencil. Have fun hunting.
    Kass