Noodler’s Heart of Darkness

Noodler’s Heart of Darkness is one of those inks that almost everyone recommends. Heart of Darkness (or HoD) is praised for is deep, dark colour and bulletproof qualities. I have wanted to try this one for a while but couldn’t justify buying a second bottle of black ink, luckily a fellow fountain pen addict gave me a lovely sample at our monthly meetup. The ink performs very well, flows well, lays a nice line and dries in a very reasonable amount of time. Due to it’s dark colour there is some show through but I was VERY impressed by how little bleed there was. The only time this ink feathered was on moleskine paper. HoD did smear a bit when wet on Rhodia paper but on printer paper it held up perfectly under running water. This is an excellent ink that I will not hesitate to purchase after this sample runs out.


Noodler's Heart of Darkness

Noodler's Heart of Darkness

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “Noodler’s Heart of Darkness

  1. Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish so many black inks from each other, but this is one that always gets recommended first on blogs and forums. It’s a solid performer, dries pretty quickly (especially considering it’s a waterproof ink), and has little feathering on most papers. I’m glad you like this one, it’s a good one. I use it myself in a couple of pens, especially when addressing envelopes. One thing to note with all of the ‘bulletproof’ inks is that they do take a while to become truly waterproof. Some take a day, some take a week, I think this ink is more towards the day timeframe. But once it’s on there good luck trying to get it off!

  2. I reviewed this on my blog and I like it. Maybe you’re using high quality paper but on the papers I’ve used (including photocopy paper), I found that it bleeds through. The water resistance is very good indeed.

  3. Halden

    Good to know that it has some set time. My initial test showed some smearing but it was on Rhodia Vellum coated paper and only about 5 minutes after writing. I know my other tests have been much more resilient.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap | PencilWrap.com